SASKATCHEWAN TEACHERS' FEDERATION

**NEWS RELEASE** 

For Information Contact:

Lynn Redl-Huntington Manager, Communications

306-221-4209

lynn.redlhuntington@stf.sk.ca

For Immediate Release:

April 25, 2024

Saskatchewan Teachers Celebrate Arbos Award Recipients

SASKATOON – Through the 2024 Arbos awards, the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation is celebrating

three individuals for the scope, impact and significance of their contributions to public education and the

teaching profession. Gerry Craswell, Fay Humbert and Derek Hyland are this year's recipients of the Arbos

awards, the highest honour the Federation can bestow upon a teacher or individual working in education.

"Each person who receives this award exemplifies the very best of our profession, and I am thrilled to help

celebrate them and shine a light on their work and careers," says STF President Samantha Becotte. "It is

my honour to thank this year's recipients for their years of dedication, passion, expertise, professionalism

and guidance in service to public education in Saskatchewan. Their impacts and legacies will be felt for

many years to come."

Gerry Craswell has received the Arbos for Distinguished Support of Education and the Teaching

Profession. This award honours individuals who are not members of the Saskatchewan Teachers'

Federation and who have made significant contributions to education and to the teaching profession

through their advocacy and support for teachers and for public education. This award is given at the

discretion of the STF Executive.

Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation

Fay Humbert has received the Arbos for Contributions to the Professional Organization, which honours

individuals who have made contributions to the professional organization at the provincial, national and/or

international level(s). This award is given at the discretion of the STF Executive.

Derek Hyland has received the Arbos for Contributions to Education and the Teaching Profession. This

award honours teachers who have made outstanding contributions to education and the teaching

profession that are broad and significant in their scope and impact. The recipient of this award is selected

from nominations submitted by local associations, professional growth networks, teachers, trustees,

directors of education, teacher educators or officials in educational organizations. A selection committee of

teachers forwards the name of one of the nominees to the STF Executive as the recommended recipient for

this award.

Each Arbos includes honorary life membership in the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation and an Arbos

statuette, presented during the Federation's Annual Meeting of Council luncheon held today.

-30-

Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation 2317 Arlington Avenue, Saskatoon SK S7J 2H8 Canada