

NEWS RELEASE

For Information Contact:

Courtney Forseth, MA

Managing Director, Public Relations and Communications

306-221-4209

courtney.forseth@stf.sk.ca

For Immediate Release:

May 31, 2021

SASKATCHEWAN TEACHERS ELECT NEW PRESIDENT

SASKATOON – At the 89th Annual Meeting of Council, Saskatchewan teachers elected

Samantha Becotte to serve as the next President of the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation.

Becotte is the seventh woman President in the Federation's history and will take on the role

effective July 1, 2022, for a one-year term.

"I am thrilled and honoured by the trust my colleagues have placed in me," said Becotte,

President-Elect, Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation. "The experiences of our members are

diverse, but we are all united in our resolve to provide high-quality education to all of

Saskatchewan's students. As we prepare to enter the next round of provincial collective

bargaining, I am committed to revitalizing our collective strength and being a catalyst of change

as our organization continues its evolution to meet members' changing needs."

Becotte has been an active member of the Federation for more than 10 years. She was first

elected to the Executive in 2015 and has served as Vice-President since 2019. Previously, she

also served as an STF councillor, on the Lloydminster Teachers' Association Local

Implementation and Negotiating Committee and on the STF Resolutions Committee. A

mathematician, Becotte is also passionate about women in leadership. She resides outside

Lloydminster with her husband and two daughters.

Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation

2317 Arlington Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada S7J 2H8 Telephone: 306-373-1660 Facsimile: 306-374-1122

1 of 3

Four new members-at-large were also elected to two-year terms on the Executive. The

successful candidates are:

Neal Boutin, Chinook Teachers' Association

• Micheal Hagel, Tri-West Teachers' Association

• Gwen Paul, Prairie Valley Teachers' Association

• Crystal Schindel, Horizon Teachers' Association

Outgoing President Patrick Maze congratulates the incoming Executive and notes the

competitive election as a sign that the organization is well positioned to represent teachers and

meet future challenges.

"Thank you to each and every candidate who ran for election this year. Regardless of the

results, I encourage you to harness your desire to serve and find opportunities to inspire and

lead your colleagues," said Maze. "It has been an honour to represent Saskatchewan teachers

for the last seven years. I will forever be proud and grateful for this incredible experience and

opportunity to serve my profession."

Maze continues in his role as President until June 30, 2022. On July 1, Becotte will begin her

term as President. The new Executive members will also begin serving their terms on July 1 and

will join the existing Executive members, who were elected to two-year terms in 2021.

-30-

Telephone: 306-373-1660 Facsimile: 306-374-1122



BACKGROUNDER

At the 89th Annual Meeting of Council, 248 elected councillors voted in elections for President and four member-at-large positions on the Executive.

STF Executive Effective July 1, 2022			
Name	Position	Local	Term
			July 1 - June 30
Samantha Becotte	President	Lloydminster Teachers' Association	2022-23
Neal Boutin	Member-at-Large	Chinook Teachers' Association	2022-24
Nathan Bromm	Member-at-Large	South East Cornerstone Teachers' Association	2021-23
Kirsten Fritsch	Member-at-Large	Creighton Teachers' Association	2021-23
Ben Goby	Member-at-Large	Regina Public Schools Teachers' Association	2021-23
Micheal Hagel	Member-at-Large	Tri-West Teachers' Association	2022-24
Amy Korver	Member-at-Large	Prairie Spirit Teachers' Association	2021-23
Gwen Paul	Member-at-Large	Prairie Valley Teachers' Association	2022-24
Crystal Schindel	Member-at-Large	Horizon Teachers' Association	2022-24