

## **STATEMENT**

For Information Contact: Lynn Redl-Huntington Manager, Communications 306-221-4209 lynn.redlhuntington@stf.sk.ca

**For Immediate Release:** February 6, 2024

## Statement From the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation President

SASKATOON – As President of the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation, I'd like to acknowledge the news that a total of four former Ministers of Education – Gord Wyant, Dustin Duncan, Don Morgan and Donna Harpauer – will not seek re-election this fall. Although there have been significant disagreements between teachers and government, we thank them for their public service and contributions to the democratic process. Teachers are hopeful that this changing of the guard will provide the Saskatchewan Party government with a more enlightened approach to both student needs and collective bargaining with teachers. As the Premier will now have a collection of novice MLAs and cabinet ministers, he should be motivated to bargain a truly fair deal with teachers that addresses the crisis in public education, including meeting students' needs.

– 30 –